The steel ore loading docks are still very active and can be seen behind Rick. Barely visible behind the dock are two large freighters that were being loaded. These docks are well over 1,000 feet long and are massive structures.
Because or the number of ships using the Two Harbors area, a lighthouse was constructed in the later 1890's. The lighthouse is now open for viewing and provided a fascinating look at the last century.
The Tow Harbors Historical Society has developed 4 interesting attractions including the lighthouse, tugboat seen above, the railroad Depot museum, and the original 3M company headquarters, since 3M was actually started in this small town. Tickets for all 4 attractions are a very reasonable $10 per person.
The tour of the tug included the engine room and Rick was delighted to check out the engine telegraph system. He was ready to respond to orders from the bridge.